Briefing Note for Decision by the Ministers

In response to the request to leave technical details out of the Declaration, BFUG members are provided with the present document to be put forward to their Ministers for approval (indivually) before the Bologna Ministerial Anniversary Conference in March.

It concerns three issues:

1. CO-CHAIRING OF THE BOLOGNA PROCESS 2010-2012

With the Leuven/Louvain-la-Neuve Communiqué the Ministers decided that in the future, the Bologna Process would be co-chaired by the country holding the EU presidency and a non-EU country. To put this decision into practice, the Bologna Follow-up Group at its meeting in Stockholm on 28-29 September 2009 agreed:

- to treat the EU Presidency and the non-EU country as *two chairs* (rather than as chair and co-chair) to signal very clearly that the Bologna Process will be chaired on equal footing by the EU Presidency and a non-EU country.
- to leave it to each chairing team to define the exact division of tasks between the two chairs and the vice chair(s)
- to start the new chairing arrangement on 1 July 2010.
- to apply the alphabetical order when designating the chair from a non-EU country.
- to adjust the composition of the BFUG Board by replacing the three elected members with the outgoing, present and incoming non-EU chairs.

This will result in the following **chairing arrangement** up to the next Ministerial Meeting, at the occasion of which the arrangement should be evaluated and further established for the period until the following Ministerial Meeting in 2015.

Semester	EU- Presidency	Chair from non-EU country	Vice-chair
1 July – 31 December 2010	Belgium	Albania	
1 January - 30 June 2011	Hungary	Andorra	Romania
1 July – 31 December 2011	Poland	Armenia	
1 January - 30 June 2012	Denmark	Azerbaijan	

Provisional chairing arrangement July 2012 to June 2020

Semester	EU- Presidency	Chair from non-EU country	Vice-chair
1 July – 31 December 2012	Cyprus	Bosnia and Herzegovina	Host of 2015 Ministerial Conference (not known yet)
1 January - 30 June 2013	Ireland	Croatia	
1 July – 31 December 2013	Lithuania	Georgia	
1 January - 30 June 2014	Greece	Holy See	
1 July – 31 December 2014	Italy	Iceland	
1 January - 30 June 2015	Latvia	Liechtenstein	

BFUG (ES) 20 7c

Issue date: 12/02/2010

1 July – 31 December 2015	Luxembourg	Moldova	Host of 2018 Ministerial Conference (not known yet)
1 January - 30 June 2016	Netherlands	Montenegro	
1 July – 31 December 2016	Slovakia	Norway	
1 January - 30 June 2017	Malta	Russian Federation	
1 July – 31 December 2017	United Kingdom	Serbia	
1 January - 30 June 2018	Estonia	Switzerland	
1 July – 31 December 2018	Bulgaria	"the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"	Host of 2020 Ministerial Conference (not known yet)
1 January - 30 June 2019	Austria	Turkey	
1 July – 31 December 2019	Romania	Ukraine	
1 January - 30 June 2020	Finland	tbc	

General tasks of countries chairing the Bologna Process

The Chairs have a joint responsibility to take forward the aims and actions laid down by Ministers responsible for Higher Education in the Bologna Declaration and subsequent Communiqués of Ministerial Conferences. They hold the chair both at the Bologna Ministerial Meetings and the Bologna Policy Forum as well as in the sessions of the Bologna Follow-up Group or BFUG Board meetings. They jointly represent the Bologna Process in European and international fora.

In the decision-making process the chairs assume the task to lead the way towards compromise in cases of controversy, and to provide political impetus for moving the Bologna Process forward.

2. PERMANENT EHEA WEBSITE

With the launch of the European Higher Education Area, a permanent EHEA website www.ehea.info will be established, which will be serviced and maintained by the Bologna Secretariat with support from the Bologna Follow-up Group.

From 1 July 2010 to 30 June 2012, the website will thus be maintained by the Romanian Bologna Secretariat.

The following domains have also been reserved and visitors of those pages will be automatically diverted to the official EHEA website mentioned above.

european-higher-education-area.info

european-higher-education-area.net

european-higher-education-area.org

european-higher-education-area.eu

bologna-process.info

bologna-process.net

bologna-process.org

3. MINISTERIAL CONFERENCE 2015 - HOSTING AND SECRETARIAT

The decision on the host(s) of the 2015 Ministerial Bologna Conference needs to be taken before 1 January 2012 to ensure a smooth handover to the next Secretariat to be provided by the host(s). Therefore, candidatures of countries wishing to host the 2015 Ministerial Conference, the Bologna Secretariat and the EHEA website, should be put forward by 1 September 2011. In case several candidatures are received by the given deadline, a vote will be organised at the BFUG meeting in autumn 2011.